You are here

REIMAGINED-Easter Family Gathering 2020

10 April, 2020 to 13 April, 2020

In response to the Coronavirus disruption, changes have been made to the planned Easter Family Gathering 2020. Firstly, the Easter Family Gathering will take place on the platform zoom.us and be available to anyone with internet access. We will be inspired by Yearly Meetings around the world who are sharing ways to have community around cancelled events. We will be forging new ways to meet and eat together, to share activities, listen to stories and exchange ideas.
 
We are leaning into a crack, created by a disconnect between our collective consciousness and our collective action, and a virus known as Covid-19. Discombobulating, levelling, we have all been sent home to think about what we have been doing. It is the time of Easter, the equinox, and the turning of the seasonal tide. Conveniently, the Easter tradition is a time, a framework and a ritual for letting go of the old, waiting, and allowing the new to emerge. What more do we need?
 
Our theme is simply the Easter tradition, the story of death and rebirth that provides a narrative and a structure for activities and sharing over 3 days. For 1900 years, Easter and other rituals and festivals have contributed to integration and stability. This event is an invitation to re-examine religious stories we may have cast aside, like nursery rhymes and fairy stories that have been outgrown. We will open ourselves to myth, metaphor, narrative and story. And in doing so allow the truth of metaphor and symbol, based in mythos (story), to sit alongside the truth of fact and history, based in logos (logic).
 
Let’s welcome the opportunity to tie ourselves to our immediate environment and to the natural, seasonal cycle of life in whatever way it lives, or could live, in us. Together/alone we will all meet from our homes and share from the reality of life with COVID-19. We will gather as family and cater for people of all ages who belong together. You are invited to consider your family in any way that feels comfortable, from household to meeting, society and beyond, and into the non-human world.
 
Preparing the gathering will be an emergent process in itself.

The gathering will take place on the platform zoom.us. The draft schedule is:
 
Friday 10th April: Theme - death, crucifiction, letting go
Morning session, 2 hours (9 - 11 am AWST; 11 - 1pm  AEST)
Afternoon session, 1.5 hrs (1 - 2:30 pm AWST; 3 - 4:30 pm, AEST)
Evening Epilogue, 30 min (6:30 - 7 pm AWST; 8:30 - 9pm AEST)
Saturday 11th April: Theme - waiting, grieving
Morning session, 2 hours (9 - 11 am AWST; 11 - 1pm  AEST)
Afternoon session, 1.5 hrs (1 - 2:30 pm AWST; 3 - 4:30 pm, AEST)
Evening Epilogue, 30 min (6:30 - 7 pm AWST; 8:30 - 9pm AEST)
Sunday 12th April: Theme - rebirth, resurrection, regrowth
Morning session, 2 hours (9 - 11:30 am AWST; 11 - 1:30pm  AEST)
Shared meal, 1.5 hours (11:30 am - 12:30 pm, AWST; 1:30 - 2:30pm  AEST)
Afternoon session, 1.5 hrs (1 - 2:30 pm AWST; 3 - 4:30 pm, AEST)
Evening Epilogue, 30 min (6:30 - 7 pm AWST; 8:30 - 9pm AEST)
 
Stay tuned, stay open, and be ready to hear more details as they arise.
In Friendship
Gina Price and Lucy Slevin
For further information contact:
Lucy lu.quaker@gmail.com
or Gina cjyfcoordinator@quakersaustralia.info