# AYM Nominations Committee Report for YM22 Revised 30.6.22

# A) The following appointments were approved prior to Yearly Meeting 2022 and are brought for noting.

#### 1. (Minute SC9.21.6):

# a) Yearly Meeting Organising Committee

Standing Committee accepts the names brought forward by their Regional Meeting to be on YM Organising Committee: Harold Wilkinson, Vidya, Michael Searle, all of Canberra and Region Quakers.

Jessica Donoghue, Queensland Regional Meeting. Anna Wilkinson and Em Chandler, Victoria Regional Meeting

#### b) Backhouse Lecture Committee

Standing Committee accepts the name of Evan Gallagher of Canberra and Region Quakers and Judith Pembleton of Queensland Regional Meeting to join the AYM Backhouse Lecture Committee, until YM27 (or 30.09.27, if there is no Yearly Meeting that year);

## c) Children and JYF Committee

Standing Committee accepts the names of Di Bretherton and Jenny Turton from Victoria Regional Meeting to join the AYM Children's & Junior Young Friend Committee until YM24 (or 30.09.24, if there is no Yearly Meeting that year)

#### 2. (Minute SC1.22.4):

- a) Standing Committee accepted the names of Margaret Clark (CRQ) and Peter Williams (VRM) to join the *Australian Friend* until 2025. It was noted that Wies Schuiringa will finish her time on this committee at YM 22.
- b) Standing Committee confirmed Therese Douglas as an appointment to the Company of QSA
- c) Standing Committee accepted the name of Michael Corbett (QRM) to the Handbook Revision Committee until YM 2025.

## 3. (Minute AGM 22.7)

The urgent decision-making process was used on 7 March, 2022 to appoint Emily Chapman-Searle, Margaret Clark and Judith Pembleton to this Working Party for a period of four to six months.

## B) New appointments to be made or noted at Yearly Meeting

# 1. AYM Committees and Working Groups

#### a) The Australian Friend

Sue Parritt (VRM) and Rosemary Longhurst (WARM) to join Margaret Clark (CRQ) on this committee until YM 2025.

Peter Jones (TRM) who has been organising the "Know thy Friend" section of *The Australian Friend* for some time, until YM 2025.

We note that David Swain and Rae Litting (NSWRM) are willing to continue at this time, in order to have some overlap with the new team. They see their role as helping to preserve the corporate memory, and to assist in the technical issues associated (end date uncertain.)

We note that this committee is no longer a 'hosted' committee and is under the care of AYM.

# b) Child Protection Committee

Ronis Chapman and Lorraine Thomson until YM 2023.

#### c) Children and IYF Committee

Justine Shelton (VRM) until YM 2025.

#### d) Finance Committee

Roger Sawkins (QRM) until YM 2025. Carol Thornton (CRQ) until YM 2024.

#### e) Handbook Revision Committee

Julie Walpole (TRM) until YM 2025. Ron Martin (VRM) until YM 2025.

f) Nominations Committee

Bev Polzin (VRM) until YM 2025.

## g) Peace and Social Justice Fund Committee

Lorraine Thomson, Wilma Davidson, Kay de Vogel, Harold Wilkinson, to be hosted by Canberra and Region Quakers until YM 2025.

#### h) Presiding Clerk's Support Group

Catherine Heywood, Dale Hess, Sieneke Martin, Alan Clayton, Bev Polzin until YM 2025

#### i) Publications Committee

Sue Headley (TRM) until YM 2025

### j) Quaker Peace and Legislation Committee (QPLC)

Harold Wilkinson, Margaret Bearlin, Ronis Chapman, Margaret Clark, David Purnell, Shoba Varkey, Gareth Knapman, Greg Parkhurst, Shannon Zimmerman until YM25, to be hosted by Canberra and Region Quakers.

#### k) <u>Ouaker World Connections Committee (OWCC)</u> Four-yearly appointments

Sue Ennis (VRM) is Convenor of this Committee until YM 2023.

Jonathan Benyei (CRQ) until YM 2025.

Sharon Matthews (WARM) until YM 2023.

# l) <u>The Sanctuary Management Committee</u> (NSWRM)

Jacque Schultze (NSWRM) until YM 2025.

## 2. Australia Yearly Meeting Representatives

## a) Friends Peace Teams Council

Jane Drexler has laid down her membership of this council.

Valerie Joy (QRM) will be Interim representative till YM 2023.

# b) NCCA Faith and Unity Commission

We note Janet Duke (VRM) is willing to continue to represent AYM on this committee, but is unable to be present at meetings during 2022. We note that it has not been possible to find a suitable Friend to undertake this role in 2022.

## c) NCCA Safe Churches Network

Ronis Chapman until YM2023

d) Ann Zubrick as AYM representative to A/NZ YM for 2023.

# C) Appointments for Yearly Meeting 2022 (these will have already been approved in Formal Session 1)

(a) We bring the names of Kay de Vogel, Stephen Hodgkin (Canberra and Region Quakers) and Liz Field (NSWRM) as minute-checkers for Yearly Meeting 2022. We ask these Friends to organise the minute-checking arrangements to best suit them.

## D) AYM positions unresolved at this time

a) AYM Membership Secretary

Michael Searle and Jenny Seaton's terms finish at YM2022.

b) Safe Quaker Community Committee

All three members of this committee will be finishing at YM2022 and AYM Nominations Committee has been unsuccessful in finding Friends to replace them.

We would like Yearly Meeting to consider a possible different way of dealing with personal safety, and our legal obligations in regard to personal safety. Do the Safe Quaker Community and the Child Protection Committee deal with similar concerns? Does our inability to find members willing to take over the particular role of Safe Quaker Community present an opportunity to review and consolidate all aspects of personal safety?

# D) Committees laid down

- a) Australia North Korea Peace Support Group
- b) Quaker Learning Australia Committee
  We note that WARM completed its term on Quaker Learning Australia at YM 2021, which was noted at that Yearly Meeting (Minute 21.35). SANTRM has agreed to do the on-the-ground hosting for Meeting for Learning for 2022 and 2023 (this means transportation to and from the retreat site, etc.). The actual Meeting for Learning program is being organised by the retreat leaders.

We bring this matter to Yearly Meeting's attention.

Bev Polzin, on behalf of AYM Nominations Committee (May, 2022)